2012 Education Scholarships

5:33 PM

The FIG Foundation, which was founded in 2002 has approved proposals advanced by its working group mandated to award scholarships for 2012. According to the rules set out, each FIG discipline on the Olympic programme - Men's Artistic Gymnastics, Women's Artistic Gymnastics, Rhythmic Gymnastics and Trampoline Gymnastics - shall receive three CHF 5,000 grants a total of CHF 60,000 for 2012. From the release from FIG:

Every application meets the validation criteria, which stipulates notably that only federations with insufficient economic means but having fulfilled all their financial obligations are eligible, and that gymnasts having obtained encouraging results and showing signs of promising talent alone will be considered. Case by case evaluations are made by recognised FIG technicians.
FIG aid provides gymnasts with an opportunity to follow gymnastic courses or pursue an education at home or abroad, providing the targeted country is in possession of adequately equipped installations and agrees to host the athlete.
The mission of the FIG Foundation is to promote, assist and show solidarity to members of the International Gymnastics Federation (FIG), notably individuals with particular athletic or administrative merit. It funds scientific research aimed at safeguarding the health of gymnasts, and assists struggling countries to develop gymnastics nationwide, maintain a high-level gymnastic culture and help children and adults in need of gymnastic activity to improve their quality of life.
Founded in 2002 by the General Assembly in Athens (GRE), the FIG Foundation is chaired by Mr William J. Hybl (USA), President and CEO of the El Pomar Federation (USA), and counts six members: Prof. Bruno Grandi (ITA), FIG President; Jani Tanskanen (FIN), FIG Athletes Commission President; Hidenori Futagi (JPN), Japan Gymnastics Association President; Prof. Paolo Parisi (ITA), Director of the Department of Human Biology at the University of Rome; Walter von Kaenel (SUI), President of Longines Watch Co., Francillon SA; and Sabet Mounir (EGY), IOC Member.
Congratulations to the following gymnasts who are the 2012 Education Scholarships recipients:

  • Velislav Valchev (BUL) - MAG
  • Ralitsa Mileva (BUL) - WAG
  • Marko Brez (CRO) - MAG
  • Marijo Moznik (CRO) - MAG
  • Paata Nozadze (GEO) - MAG
  • Gabriela Khvedelidze (GEO) - RG
  • Tengizi Koshkadze (GEO) - TRA
  • Vlasios Maras (GRE) - MAG
  • Vasiliki Millousi (GRE) - WAG
  • Stavroula Samara (GRE) - RG
  • Robert Tvorogal (LTU) - MAG
  • Teja Belak (SLO) - WAG
  • Sara Kragulj (SLO) - RG
  • Bojan Dejanovic (SRB) - MAG
  • Aleksandra Rajcic (SRB) - WAG
  • Islam Mohamed Shahin (EGY) - MAG
  • Nancy Mohamed Taman (EGY) - WAG
  • Ashrakat Sherif (EGY) - TRA
  • Grace Legote (RSA) - RG
  • Benjamin Lucky Radebe (RSA) - TRA
  • Mohamed Aziz Trabelsi (TUN) - MAG
  • Rahma Mastouri (TUN) - WAG
  • Yamilet Pena Abreu (DOM) - WAG
  • Mohammed Shahidul Islam (BAN) - MAG
  • Tharindu Paththapperuma (SRI) - MAG
  • Ridma Bengalage (SRI) - WAG
  • PHAM Phuoc Hung (VIE) - MAG 

You Might Also Like